Committed to a better future

Plateau Continental

Présentation

The Republic of Madagascar, in its request to extend the limit of its continental shelf beyond 200 nautical miles, claimed an area of ​​approximately 860,900 km2.

The objectives of this Project are the study and preparation of files relating to the Extension of the Southern Continental Shelf of Madagascar, the delineation of the limit of this Plateau beyond 200 m of marine water depth within the framework of the Project. “Oil for the Development of Madagascar” bilateral cooperation between the Norwegian government and that of Madagascar from 2007 – 2010.

This project has obtained financial support and technical assistance from the international and national organizations listed below:

– United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (UN/DOALOS) ;

– Norwegian International Development Agency (NORAD) through Norwegian Petroleum Directorate (NPD) ;

– UNEP/Shelf program – GRID Arendal ;

– Office of National Mines and Strategic Industries (OMNIS- Madagascar) This Project is responsible for:

  • studies of scientific aspects for the demonstration and publication of the natural extension of the continental crust of Madagascar;
  • of the preparation of the answers to the questions asked by “The Commission of The Limit of the Continental Shelf” (CLCS) of the UN Achievements

The technical studies were completed, the technical files and the corresponding legal texts to support this continental shelf extension project were submitted to the UN / UNCLOS in 2011.

Historical

The process of delimiting the continental shelf of Madagascar can be summed up in four phases:

1st phase :

Preliminary study or “Desktop study” (2007)

2nd phase :

Submission of the submission file to the CLCS (April 29, 2011)

3rd phase :

Presentation and defense of the file in New York (August 24, 2011) When submitting the submission files, the lack of seismic data was noted on the northwestern part of the requested continental shelf. Given the number of applications filed before the Malagasy application is filed, Madagascar will have ample time to carry out the seismic surveys and complete the file before the commissions examine them.

4th phase :

Search for a partner or funds to carry out the 2D seismic survey work in the Mozambique basin (to be carried out before the analysis of the Madagascar file by the Commission des Limites du Plateau). Without these additional seismic data and the related corrections, the file supported in 2011 is likely to be inadmissible.

Current advances

Madagascar was in search of finding the means to carry out the seismic survey (2,780 km) according to the position plan of the figure below. Today, we are awaiting the examination of the submission file and the recommendations of the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelves.

Agreement signed with sio

On April 16, 2021, a partnership agreement was signed at the premises of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Anosy, between OMNIS, represented by its interim Director General Andry Nantenaina Rasolonirina, and the Chinese company SIO, represented by its Director General deputy, Fang Yinxia. This partnership concerns the collection of additional data to complete Madagascar’s file for the request for the acquisition of the southern continental shelf.

During the submission of the submission to the CLCS (Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf) made on April 29, 2011 and our technical presentation and defense, August 24, 2011- It was noted that seismic data was missing in our request. Without these additional seismic data and the related corrections, the supported file risks being rejected.

A “Task Force” in charge of studying the possibilities of extending Madagascar’s continental shelf was set up in 2007. Because of its strategic technical nature, the lead was entrusted to OMNIS. Preliminary studies were carried out thus allowing the filing of our submission file in 2011, as mentioned above. In the meantime, it was necessary to seek technical partners or funds in order to carry out the required seismic surveys.

The relaunch of the file relating to the “continental shelf project” and the preparation of the additional submission file at the level of CLCS constitute another battle horse for the current regime. Indeed, we claim an area of ​​approximately 860,900km² which is full of wealth such as: geothermal energy, pharmaceutical fauna and flora, gas hydrates, hydrocarbons, metals, heavy minerals….

Engagé pour un avenir meilleur

Plateau Continental

Présentation

La République de Madagascar, dans sa demande d’extension de la limite de son plateau continental au-delà de 200 milles marins, a revendiqué une superficie d’environ 860 900 km2.

Ce Projet a pour objectifs l’étude et la préparation des dossiers relatives à l’Extension du Plateau Continental Sud de Madagascar, la délinéation de la limite de ce Plateau au-délà de 200 m de profondeur d’eau marine dans le cadre du Projet « ‘ Oil for the Development of Madagascar » coopération bilatérale entre le gouvernement norvégien et celui de Madagascar de 2007 – 2010.

Ce projet a obtenu le support financier et l’assistance technique des organismes internationaux et national listés ci-après :

– United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (UN/DOALOS) ;

– Norwegian International Development Agency (NORAD) through Norwegian Petroleum Directorate (NPD) ;

– UNEP/Shelf program – GRID Arendal ;

– Office des Mines Nationales et des Industries Stratégiques (OMNIS- Madagascar) Il incombe à ce Projet :

  • des études des aspects scientifiques pour la démonstration et la publication du prolongement naturel de la croûte continentale de Madagascar ;
  • de la préparation des réponses aux questions demandées par “The Commission of The Limit of the Continental Shelf” (CLCS) de l’ONU Réalisations

Les études techniques ont été achevées, les dossiers techniques et les textes juridiques correspondants pour supporter ce projet d’extension du plateau continental ont été remis à l’ONU/UNCLOS en 2011

Historique

Le processus de délimitation du plateau continental de Madagascar peut se résumer en quatre phases :

1 ère phase :

Etude préliminaire ou « Desktop study » (2007)

2éme phase :

Dépôt du dossier de soumission auprès du CLCS (29 Avril 2011)

3éme phase :

Présentation et soutenance du dossier à New York (24 août 2011) Lors du dépôt des dossiers de soumission, le manque de donnée sismique a été noté sur la partie Nord-Ouest du plateau continental demandé. Compte tenu des nombres de demande déposée avant le dépôt de la demande Malgache, Madagascar aura largement le temps d’effectuer les levées sismiques et de compléter le dossier avant que les commissions les examinent.

4éme phase :

Recherche de partenaire ou de fonds pour effectuer les travaux de levé sismique 2D dans le bassin de Mozambique (à réaliser avant l’analyse du dossier Madagascar par la Commission des Limites du Plateau). Sans ces données sismiques complémentaires et les rectifications y afférant, le dossier soutenu en 2011 est risque d’être irrecevable.

Avancées actuelles

Madagascar était en quête de trouver les moyens pour réaliser le levé sismique (2.780 Km) suivant le plan de position de la figure ci-dessous. Aujourd’hui, nous sommes en attente de l’examen du dossier de soumission et les recommandations de la commission des limites des plateaux continental.

Convention signée avec SIO

Le 16 avril 2021, un accord de partenariat a été signé dans les locaux du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères à Anosy, entre l’OMNIS, représenté par son Directeur Général par intérim Andry Nantenaina Rasolonirina, et la compagnie chinoise SIO, représentée par son Directeur Général adjoint, Fang Yinxia. Ce partenariat concerne la collecte de données complémentaires, pour compléter le dossier de Madagascar pour la demande d’acquisition du plateau continental Sud.

Lors du dépôt de soumission auprès du CLCS (Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf ) effectué le 29 Avril 2011 et notre présentation technique et soutenance, le 24 Août 2011- Il a été constaté que des données sismiques manquent dans notre demande. Sans ces données sismiques complémentaires et les rectifications y afférentes, le dossier soutenu risque d’être rejeté.

Un « Task Force » chargé d’étudier les possibilités d’extension du plateau continental de Madagascar, a été mis en place en 2007. A cause de son caractère technique stratégique, le lead a été confié à l’OMNIS. Des études préliminaires ont été réalisées permettant ainsi le dépôt de notre dossier de soumission en 2011, comme mentionné plus haut. Entre temps, il a fallu chercher des partenaires techniques ou de fonds afin d’effectuer les levés sismiques requis.

La relance du dossier relatif au « projet plateau continental » et la préparation du complément de dossier de soumission au niveau de CLCS constituent un autre cheval de bataille pour le régime actuel. En effet, nous revendiquons une superficie d’environ 860 900km² qui regorge de richesses telles que : énergie géothermale, faunes et flores pharmaceutiques, hydrates de gaz, hydrocarbures, métaux, minéraux lourds….